News and Noteworthy

Inaugural Dr. Louis B. Harrison Award Announced

June 5, 2021 - Dr. Austin Sim, a graduate fellow in Radiation Oncology, was named the first-ever recipient of the Louis B. Harrison Award this month.

Residency directors Drs. Jessica Frakes and Stephen Rosenberg announced the award on June 5. The award, funded by Eileen and Howard Curd, is focused on teaching physician leadership and is believed to be the only longitudinal program of its kind in the country.

Issam El Naqa, Ph.D. Awarded Michael S. Patterson Publication Impact Prize in Medical Physics

June 1, 2021 - Issam El Naqa, Ph.D, was the Michael S. Patterson Publication Impact Prize in Medical Physics for 2021 for his role as senior author on the article titled, "A radiomics model from joint FDG-PET and MRI texture features for the prediction of lung metastases in soft-tissue sarcomas of the extremetities." The paper advanced the field of radiomics by proposing a new technique based on joint fluorine-18 fluorodeoxyglucose  positron emission tomography and magnetic resonance texture-based multivariable model in order to better predict aggressive tumors.

This prize was introduced in 2016 and is awarded for a scientific paper written by a member of the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists who has had a tremendous impact on the field of medical physics.