Cancer Immunology and Immunotherapy Faculty

Daniel Abate-Daga

Daniel Abate-Daga, PhD - Assistant Member

Dr. Abate-Daga's research is focused on the development of T cell-based immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer, and the translation of those preclinical findings into clinical application.

Dennis Adeegbe

Dennis Adeegbe - Assistant Member 

Research in Dr. Adeegbe’s lab is in the area of immune regulation and immunotherapy in the context of cancer. The lab focuses on understanding the dynamics and functions of various immune cells that are present in solid cancers such as Lung Cancer and Melanoma with emphasis on immune-suppressive T cells and how they can be targeted for therapeutic outcomes.

Amer beg

Amer A. Beg, PhD – Senior Member

The Beg laboratory is interested in developing new strategies aimed at modulating the tumor microenvironment to increase tumor immunogenicity and response to therapeutics. Through both laboratory and clinical trial studies, ongoing projects aim to modulate activity of epigenetic and cytokine pathways to enhance immunological control of lung cancer. The Beg laboratory is also developing novel oncolytic virus strategies to generate potent anti-tumor T cell responses that can turn immune “cold” to “hot” tumors capable of responding to checkpoint inhibitors and other immunotherapeutics. 

Pearlie Burnette

Pearlie K. Burnette, PharmD, PhD - Senior Member

The central hypothesis of Dr. Epling-Burnette and her colleagues is that the LGL cells accumulate as a result of dysregulated apoptosis and that these lymphocytes induce autoimmune destruction of myeloid and/or erythroid populations.

Marco Davila

Marco L. Davila, MD, PhD – Associate Member

My research is dedicated to developing gene-engineered cell therapies that target cancer cells in animal models of cancer. The goal of this research is to identify optimal cell therapies that can then be evaluated in cancer patients.

Jose Conejo-Garcia

Jose Conejo-Garcia, MD, PhD – Department Chair, Senior Member

The goal of Dr. Conejo-Garcia’s research program is to identify and target mechanisms governing the balance between immunosuppression and protective immunity in the tumor microenvironment, with an emphasis on the role of cancer-driven pathological myelopoiesis.

Shari Pilon-Thomas

Shari A. Pilon-Thomas, PhD - Associate Member

A major goal of Dr. Pilon-Thomas’ research is to investigate approaches that overcome melanoma-mediated T cell suppression. Much of the research centers on the anti-melanoma activity of combined lymphopenia and immunotherapy.

Javier Pinilla

Javier Pinilla-Ibarz, MD, PhD – Senior Member

My clinical interest is in the area of chronic leukemias with special interest in chronic myeloid leukemia and chronic lymphoid leukemias.   Our laboratory is interested in implementing new immunotherapeutic strategies in the field of malignant hematology. The major focus of the lab has been on developing immunotherapeutic approaches for acute and chronic leukemias as well as MDS.

Paulo Rodriguez

Paulo Rodriguez, PhD - Associate Member

The long-term goal of Dr. Rodriguez’s research is to develop innovative strategies that restore protective immunity in cancer, leading to long lasting anti-tumor effector responses, through targeting primary mechanisms regulating immunosuppressive pathological myelopoiesis and signals driving T cell dysfunction in tumors.

Brian Rufello

Brian Ruffell, PhD - Assistant Member

The Ruffell Lab is interested in the mechanisms by which dendritic cells and macrophages regulate response to cytotoxic, targeted, and immune therapies, with the goal of identifying novel therapeutic targets that can promote anti-tumor immunity. The lab is particularly focused on hormone-driven malignancies that have proven highly resistant to immune modulation. 

Lab website

Sheng Wei

Sheng Wei, MD – Senior Member

Research in Dr. Wei’s laboratory has focused on improving the functional status of neutrophils and analyzing human neutrophil activation and signaling pathways that control the neutrophil's biological functions.

Kenneth Wright

Kenneth L. Wright, PhD – Department Vice-Chair, Senior Member

Dr. Wright’s laboratory is focused on two transcription factors, CIITA and PRDI-BF1. CIITA is a transcriptional activator and master regulator of the MHC Class II family of antigen presentation genes. PRDI-BF1 is a transcriptional repressor that silences CIITA and promotes terminal differentiation of immune cells.