Lung Cancer Center of Excellence

Where You Are:

Lung Cancer Center of Excellence & Lung SPORE

Lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer death for men and women. The state of Florida is second behind California in the number of new lung cancer cases per year.  In the fall of 2008 the National Cancer Institute (NCI) awarded Dr. Gerold Bepler (former program leader for thoracic oncology at Moffitt Cancer Center) and the Moffitt team a Specialized Programs of Research Excellence (SPORE) grant in lung cancer. The grant totals $10,475,090 over five years. Effective February 1, 2010, Dr. Eric Haura assumed leadership of the SPORE.

SPORE Sponsored Translational Research

Moffitt will conduct four primary research projects as follows (view Publications related to these projects):
  • E2Fs impact on therapeutic efficacy:  Douglas Cress, Ph.D., Jiandong Chen, Ph.D., Mary Pinder, M.D.
  • Antitumor mechanism of src inhibitors:  Eric Haura, M.D., Steven Eschrich, Ph.D. and John Koomen, Ph.D.
  • Chemoprevention with enzasataurin:  Jhanelle Gray, M.D. and Mark Alexandrow, Ph.D. (Closed October 31, 2010)
  • P53-based vaccine for small cell lung cancer:  Dmitry Gabrilovich, M.D., Ph.D., and Scott Antonia, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Defining the molecular heterogeneity of KRAS mutant lung adenocarcinoma: Amer Beg, Ph.D., Jhanelle Gray, M.D., and Matthew Schabeth, Ph.D. (Effective Date: November 1, 2010)

In addition, the SPORE in Lung Cancer provides funding for developmental research projects in lung cancer research.  In addition, the SPORE funds career development awards for promising investigators seeking to develop or strengthen programs in lung cancer research.

Director: Eric Haura, MD

Uwe Rix, PhD
TOOLS:   Font Size small font resizer separator font resizer separator big font resizer
 |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions