Diagnosis & Stages

Where You Are:

Small intestine cancers can be diagnosed using a combination of exams, including blood tests, barium X-rays, CT Scan, MRI, PET Scan, upper endoscopy, tissue samples taken through a biopsy and laparotomy.

Stages of Adenocarcinoma Small Intestine Cancer

Identifying the stage of disease – how far advanced it is and whether it is has spread to nearby organs – is an important step in planning the appropriate treatment. The four stages of primary Adenocarcinoma Small Intestine Cancers are:

Stage 1: The cancer is confined to the lining of the small intestine or grown into the muscle wall, but has not yet spread to the lymph nodes or other parts of the body.
Stage 2: The cancer has grown through the muscle wall and may have spread to other nearby organs, such as the pancreas.
Stage 3: The cancer has spread to nearby lymph nodes.
Stage 4: The cancer has spread to lymph nodes and other distant organs and tissues in the body.

TOOLS:   Font Size small font resizer separator font resizer separator big font resizer
 |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions